The TVWS Looses a Friend!


We are saddened to announce that the Treasure Valley Wine Society lost a dear friend on Tuesday, November 13. Tom Birch, our outstanding President for the past year, died suddenly Tuesday morning. Our deepest sympathy goes out to his wife Karen and their family. The tasting for November has been cancelled. A notice in the paper this morning said, “Birch, W. Tom, 65, of Meridian, died on November 13, 2012, at his home of natural causes. Arrangements are pending under the direction of Alden-Waggoner Funeral Chapel, Boise.” And from Bridgette Hull, Vice President, “Hi Everyone, I was thinking about having everyone who wanted to participate in making Karen a nice casserole for the Holiday , meet me at Meadow Lake (Grand Lodge Lobby) on Monday November 19th at 6:00pm. I will collect the dishes and give them to Cheryl Gibson. She will get them to Karen. Please let me know if this will work for you.
Thanks,”
Previously she had posted, “I just had a thought. I think it would be so nice for Karen if those of us who can could each make a dish that is freezer friendly that will serve 4. This will make it easy over the Holidays for Karen to serve her Family and try to eat herself. Maybe everyone could meet me at a central location with their dishes and I could give them to my Mom, being that they are neighbors and Karen does not get overwhelmed by too many visitors until she is ready. My Mom would then deliver the dishes to Karen. Please let me know what you think.”

Leave a Reply

